Bone Splinters | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Bone Splinters is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Bone Splinters
Destroy target creature.
Official Rulings for Bone Splinters
4/15/2013 : You must sacrifice exactly one creature to cast this spell; you cannot cast it without sacrificing a creature, and you cannot sacrifice additional creatures.
4/15/2013 : Players can only respond once this spell has been cast and all its costs have been paid. No one can try to destroy the creature you sacrificed to prevent you from casting this spell.