Blinding Flare | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Blinding Flare is Legal in


Sets Blinding Flare is in




Official Oracle Text for Blinding Flare

Card Name:
Blinding Flare
Casting Cost:

Card Text:
Strive — Blinding Flare costs more to cast for each target beyond the first.
Any number of target creatures can't block this turn.

Official Rulings for Blinding Flare

4/26/2014 : Blinding Flare can target any creature, including those you control.

4/26/2014 : You choose how many targets each spell with a strive ability has and what those targets are as you cast it. It’s legal to cast such a spell with no targets, although this is rarely a good idea. You can’t choose the same target more than once for a single strive spell.

4/26/2014 : The mana cost and converted mana cost of strive spells don’t change no matter how many targets they have. Strive abilities affect only what you pay.

4/26/2014 : If all of the spell’s targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. If one or more of its targets are legal when it tries to resolve, the spell will resolve and affect only those legal targets. It will have no effect on any illegal targets.

4/26/2014 : If such a spell is copied, and the effect that copies the spell allows a player to choose new targets for the copy, the number of targets can’t be changed. The player may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, the player can’t choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).

4/26/2014 : If a spell or ability allows you to cast a strive spell without paying its mana cost, you must pay the additional costs for any targets beyond the first.


Comments on Blinding Flare

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Blinding Flare. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.