SHARE
URL:
Link

Bant | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Bant is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Bant is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Bant

Card Name:
Bant
Casting Cost:
Type:
Plane — Alara

Card Text:
All creatures have exalted. (Whenever a creature attacks alone, it gets +1/+1 until end of turn for each instance of exalted among permanents its controller controls.)
Whenever you roll [chaos], put a divinity counter on target green, white, or blue creature. That creature has indestructible for as long as it has a divinity counter on it.

Official Rulings for Bant

10/1/2009 : A plane card is treated as if its text box included "When you roll , put this card on the bottom of its owner's planar deck face down, then move the top card of your planar deck off that planar deck and turn it face up." This is called the "planeswalking ability."

10/1/2009 : A face-up plane card that's turned face down becomes a new object with no relation to its previous existence. In particular, it loses all counters it may have had.

10/1/2009 : The controller of a face-up plane card is the player designated as the "planar controller." Normally, the planar controller is whoever the active player is. However, if the current planar controller would leave the game, instead the next player in turn order that wouldn't leave the game becomes the planar controller, then the old planar controller leaves the game. The new planar controller retains that designation until he or she leaves the game or a different player becomes the active player, whichever comes first.

10/1/2009 : If an ability of a plane refers to "you," it's referring to whoever the plane's controller is at the time, not to the player that started the game with that plane card in his or her deck. Many abilities of plane cards affect all players, while many others affect only the planar controller, so read each ability carefully.

10/1/2009 : If you declare exactly one creature as an attacker, each exalted ability on each permanent you control (including, perhaps, the attacking creature itself) will trigger. Note that if a creature has multiple instances of exalted, each one triggers separately. The bonuses are given to the attacking creature, not to the permanent with exalted. Ultimately, the attacking creature will wind up with +1/+1 for each of your exalted abilities.

10/1/2009 : If you attack with multiple creatures, but then all but one are removed from combat, your exalted abilities won't trigger.

10/1/2009 : Exalted abilities will resolve before blockers are declared.

10/1/2009 : Some effects put creatures onto the battlefield attacking. Since those creatures were never declared as attackers, they're ignored by exalted abilities. They won't cause exalted abilities to trigger. If any exalted abilities have already triggered (because exactly one creature was declared as an attacker), those abilities will resolve as normal even though there may now be multiple attackers.

10/1/2009 : Exalted bonuses last until the turn ends. If an effect creates an additional combat phase during your turn, a creature that attacked alone during the first combat phase will still have its exalted bonuses in that new phase. If a creature attacks alone during the second combat phase, all your exalted abilities will trigger again.

10/1/2009 : In a Two-Headed Giant game, a creature "attacks alone" if it's the only creature declared as an attacker by your entire team. If you control that attacking creature, your exalted abilities will trigger but your teammate's exalted abilities won't.

7/1/2013 : A creature with a divinity counter put on it due to the ability retains indestructible even after Bant stops being the face-up plane card.

7/1/2013 : If all divinity counters on a creature are moved to a different creature, the indestructible ability doesn't move along with them. The first creature no longer has indestructible because it no longer has a divinity counter on it. The second creature doesn't have indestructible because the ability didn't target it.

 
 

Comments on Bant

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Bant. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.