SHARE
URL:
Link

Banisher Priest | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Banisher Priest is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Banisher Priest is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.50
12

Foil Banisher Priest

Edition
Price
In-Stock

3.50
1

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Banisher Priest

Card Name:
Banisher Priest
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Human Cleric

Card Text:
When Banisher Priest enters the battlefield, exile target creature an opponent controls until Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield. (That creature returns under its owner's control.)

Flavor Text:
"Oathbreaker, I cast you out!"

Official Rulings for Banisher Priest

7/1/2013 : Banisher Priest’s ability causes a zone change with a duration, a new style of ability that’s somewhat reminiscent of older cards like Oblivion Ring. However, unlike Oblivion Ring, cards like Banisher Priest have a single ability that creates two one-shot effects: one that exiles the creature when the ability resolves, and another that returns the exiled card to the battlefield immediately after Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield.

7/1/2013 : If Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield before its enters-the-battlefield ability resolves, the target creature won’t be exiled.

7/1/2013 : Auras attached to the exiled creature will be put into their owners’ graveyards. Equipment attached to the exiled creature will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled creature will cease to exist.

7/1/2013 : If a creature token is exiled, it ceases to exist. It won’t be returned to the battlefield.

7/1/2013 : The exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Banisher Priest leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions. The two creatures aren’t on the battlefield at the same time. For example, if the returning creature is a Clone, it can’t enter the battlefield as a copy of Banisher Priest.

7/1/2013 : In a multiplayer game, if Banisher Priest’s owner leaves the game, the exiled card will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isn’t an ability that goes on the stack, it won’t cease to exist along with the leaving player’s spells and abilities on the stack.

 
 

Comments on Banisher Priest

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Banisher Priest. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: DaMarcus

Date: March 05, 2014

Comment:

if I use banisher priest on Erebos God of the dead while he is a creature do i need to return him if my opponents devotion becomes less than 5 because he is not a creature anymore? also can i use the banisher priest on Erebos when he is not yet a creature? thank you!

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: March 05, 2014

Comment:

You can only target Erebos, God of the Dead while he is a creature since Banisher Priest requires a creature for a valid target. Once you exile Erebos with Banisher Priest, he will no longer be in play which means his static ability is no longer active. So the only way he can come back is if Banisher Priest leaves play, regardless of your opponents devotion.