SHARE
URL:
Link

Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

10.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver

Card Name:
Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Ashiok

Card Text:
+2: Exile the top three cards of target opponent's library.
−X: Put a creature card with converted mana cost X exiled with Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver onto the battlefield under your control. That creature is a Nightmare in addition to its other types.
−10: Exile all cards from all opponents' hands and graveyards.

Official Rulings for Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

9/15/2013 : Ashiok’s second ability refers to any creature card exiled because of Ashiok’s first or third ability.

9/15/2013 : Ashiok’s second ability doesn’t target any creature card. You choose which creature card to return when that ability resolves, but you must choose one with converted mana cost equal to the value you chose for X when activating the ability.

9/15/2013 : If Ashiok leaves the battlefield, and later another Ashiok enters the battlefield, it is a new object (even if the two were represented by the same card). Creature cards exiled by the original Ashiok can’t be put onto the battlefield by the second ability of the new Ashiok.

9/15/2013 : If you put a creature card with bestow onto the battlefield, it will be a creature on the battlefield, not an Aura.

9/15/2013 : If you put a creature card with in its mana cost onto the battlefield, the value of that X is 0.

 
 

Comments on Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Ashiok, Nightmare Weaver. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Emrakul Empowered

Date: September 07, 2013

Comment:

This card is over powered.

Author: Gabriel Chase

Date: February 19, 2014

Comment:

Not really — what makes Ashiok overpowered for you?