Archon of the Triumvirate | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Archon of the Triumvirate is Legal in


Sets Archon of the Triumvirate is in




Official Oracle Text for Archon of the Triumvirate

Card Name:
Archon of the Triumvirate
Casting Cost:
Creature — Archon

Card Text:
Whenever Archon of the Triumvirate attacks, detain up to two target nonland permanents your opponents control. (Until your next turn, those permanents can't attack or block and their activated abilities can't be activated.)

Official Rulings for Archon of the Triumvirate

10/1/2012 : The two nonland permanents can be controlled by the same opponent or by different opponents.

10/1/2012 : The nonland permanents will be detained before blockers are chosen. Notably, a creature detained this way can't block before it is detained.

4/15/2013 : Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.

4/15/2013 : The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.

4/15/2013 : If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it's detained, it won't be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.

4/15/2013 : If a permanent's activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.

4/15/2013 : If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won't be able to attack or block.

4/15/2013 : When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player's next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.


Comments on Archon of the Triumvirate

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Archon of the Triumvirate. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.