SHARE
URL:
Link

Archetype of Courage | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Archetype of Courage is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Archetype of Courage is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.75
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Archetype of Courage

Card Name:
Archetype of Courage
Casting Cost:
Type:
Enchantment Creature — Human Soldier

Card Text:
Creatures you control have first strike.
Creatures your opponents control lose first strike and can't have or gain first strike.

Flavor Text:
"It has been my experience that soldiers most fervently follow generals who lead by example."
—Elspeth

Official Rulings for Archetype of Courage

2/1/2014 : The Archetype’s second ability applies to each creature controlled by any of your opponents, no matter when it entered the battlefield.

2/1/2014 : While you control an Archetype, continuous effects generated by the resolution of spells and abilities that would give the specified ability to creatures your opponents control aren’t created. For example, if you control Archetype of Courage, a spell cast by an opponent that gives creatures he or she controls first strike wouldn’t cause the creatures to have first strike, even if later in the turn Archetype of Courage left the battlefield. (If the spell has additional effects, such as raising the power of the creatures, those effects will apply as normal.)

2/1/2014 : Conversely, continuous effects generated by static abilities (such as an Aura that granted the appropriate ability) would resume applying if the Archetype left the battlefield.

2/1/2014 : If you and an opponent each control the same Archetype, no creature controlled by any player will have the appropriate ability.

 
 

Comments on Archetype of Courage

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Archetype of Courage. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.